GFPS best Paper Awards

The Best Paper award of the Global Fluid Power Society was established in 2017 soon after the creation of GFPS, to recognize excellence in fluid power research.

The GFPS Best Paper award is given to authors of papers presented at GFPS conferences recognized for outstanding work in fluid power, in both the manuscript preparation and the conference presentation.

The recipients of the GFPS Best Paper award do not have to be from GFPS participating institutions.


In occasion of the bi-annual GFSP – PhD Symposium, the GFPS Best Paper award comes with the Backe Medal, in honor of Prof. W. Backe, continuing the tradition of the former FPNI PhD Symposia.


Award procedure:

The GFPS Board of Directors identifies the GFPS international events that will benefit of a GFPS Best Paper award.

The conference organizers will select a number of papers candidate for the award (up to 10 papers), usually from the results of the paper review process already in place at the conference

A GFPS delegation will review the selected manuscripts and attend the presentation of each candidate paper

The best paper will be selected on the basis of originality, rigorousness, and technical contents of the manuscript and quality of the presentation.

The presenting author will receive a monetary prize and a certificate.

The award will also appear in the GFPS website.


Upcoming Awards

Past Awards Recipients

  • ICFP 2017: G. Lay and A.R. Plummer for the paper “A Morphing Tensegrity Structure with Distributed Pneumatic Actuation"
  • SICFP2017: A. Alexander and A. Vacca for the paper “Real-Time Parameter Setpoint Optimization for Electro-Hydraulic Traction Control Systems​"